Data centres in the pipeline

Researched by N84 from planning records, operator statements and press. The TEC Register has no data-centre category, so none of this is counted from it.

Researched by N84 from planning records, operator statements and press. TEC rows are not labelled data centres: the register has no such category. Confidence: A documented in an official record; B operator statement; C credible report; D single unconfirmed report.

Compiled by N84 from public sources listed per entry, as of 21 Oct 2026. Fields marked estimated were inferred by N84, not stated by a source.
SiteOperatorStageConfidenceMW
SDC M40 Campus (Wapseys Wood), between Gerrards Cross and Beaconsfield, BuckinghamshireSDC Capital Partners / Slough Holdings UK Ltd (applicant); Veolia landEnquiry estimatedA300 MW

MW basis: IT load up to c.300MW (3x c.100MW); gas connection up to c.900MW; on-site energy centre 250-350MW

Planning: Not applicable (NSIP; Secretary of State decides)

Grid status: On-site gas energy centre; no grid connection stated

Note: PINS register shows Pre-application; DCO application expected Jan 2027. Section 35 direction issued March 2026 (DCD). No DCO ref yet. Stage mapped to enquiry (pre-application).

Source 1, Source 2, checked 21 Oct 2026

Arena Essex and Fishing Lake, Arterial Road, Purfleet-on-ThamesNot stated in notice (Iceni Projects contact only)Planning submittedAnot stated

Planning: Thurrock Council, 25/00573/OUT

Note: Hybrid application with EIA, from Thurrock public notice (date of notice not shown). No MW published; do not infer. Outcome not checked.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Cobalt Park, Wallsend, North East AI Growth ZoneCobalt Park Data Centres; Nscale (Stargate UK with OpenAI, NVIDIA)Partly operational estimatedAnot stated

Planning: North Tyneside Council (inferred) estimated

Grid status: AGZ energy capacity 1.1GW within 6 years (gov.uk)

Note: gov.uk (Sep 2025) says Cobalt Park already established; Nscale/Stargate phase one up to 8,000 GPUs. Expansion planning not seen. Site MW not published.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Hayes Digital Park (London 6-8), Hayes, HillingdonColt DCSConsentedB97 MW

MW basis: 97MW IT power added (campus total 160MW)

Planning: London Borough of Hillingdon

Grid status: Colt: power contracts secured with National Grid; HV supply by Oct 2027

Note: Hillingdon approved 2 Oct 2025; subject to Mayor of London's 14-day review (outcome not confirmed in opened sources). Construction from mid-2026, first hall early 2029.

Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, checked 21 Oct 2026

Kenwood Point, Stockport, Greater ManchesterKao DataConsentedB40 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Stockport Council

Note: Permission March 2024; operator said operational 2026 (not confirmed). Outside target regions and below 50MW.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

QTS Cambois campus, near Blyth, NorthumberlandQTS (Blackstone)ConsentedC720 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Northumberland County Council

Grid status: Not stated by DCD; gov.uk says campus due to open 2028 (per North East mayor)

Note: Outline permission granted by committee 4 Mar 2025 (DCD, article dated 5 Mar 2025); detailed application to follow. Part of North East AI Growth Zone (gov.uk, Sept 2025). Check reserved-matters status.

Source 1, Source 2, checked 21 Oct 2026

Blackdog, near AberdeenAshfield Land (developer); operator not namedEnquiry estimatedC600 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Aberdeenshire Council

Grid status: No connection described; offshore wind supply floated

Note: DCD 21 Apr 2026, report only; 64-acre parcel only had a 2017 business/industrial allocation decision.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Cato, near Auchtertool, FifeILI GroupPlanning submittedC600 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Fife Council (inferred) estimated

Grid status: No connection confirmed; no grid assessment complete

Note: eWeek 6 Jul 2026; Scottish government considering moratorium on projects without permission.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Former Ravenscraig steelworks, Motherwell, North LanarkshireApaturaPlanning submittedC550 MW

MW basis: 550MW data centre with 650MW BESS (earlier reports said 500MW)

Planning: North Lanarkshire Council estimated

Grid status: Apatura CEO says land and grid secured (DCD, June 2025)

Note: Sources conflict on whether application was lodged (DCD says filed; Oct 2025 article says consultation ongoing). Target online 2030. Applied for AI Growth Zone status but Lanarkshire AGZ was awarded to DataVita.

Source 1, Source 2, checked 21 Oct 2026

DC01UK campus, South Mimms / Elstree (M25), HertfordshireDC01UK (Chiltern Green Energy / Griggs Homes); sold to Equinix Oct 2025Consented estimatedC320 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Hertsmere Borough Council

Grid status: 400MVA power reservation near Letchmore Heath substation (DCD/TechInformed)

Note: Outline permission 23 Jan 2025; detailed plans still required. DCD says 'under construction when acquired' - conflicting with outline-only; stage set to consented (inferred). Operational target 2029.

Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, checked 21 Oct 2026

Factory Road, Cambois, Northumberland (former GSK land)TBC PartnersEnquiryC300 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Northumberland County Council

Grid status: On-site substation planned; no grid detail

Note: Pre-application: EIA screening opinion requested, article dated 18 Aug 2026. A portal key in the article link may be the screening ref but not confirmed, so left null.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Wilton International, TeessideSembcorp Energy UK (with Digital Reef)Planning submittedC280 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council estimated, 2026/0183/SC estimated

Grid status: Private wire network on Wilton site; on-site gas/biomass/waste generation

Note: Filed 8 May 2026. LPA and ref inferred from portal URL in DCD article; verify on council portal.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Manor Farm, Poyle Road, SloughManor Farm Propco (Tritax Big Box)ConsentedC147 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Slough Borough Council (refused; appeal)

Note: Secretary of State allowed the appeal 10 Jun 2026; council had six weeks to challenge (check for legal challenge). Application/appeal refs not in articles.

Source 1, Source 2, checked 21 Oct 2026

Land north of Ffordd Bro Tathan, St Athan, Vale of Glamorgan, WalesVantage (VDC CWL21 Ltd)ConsentedC120 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Vale of Glamorgan Council

Grid status: Substation included in scheme; no connection detail

Note: Permission 'recently granted' per DCD of 8 Aug 2025. A 2022 filing ref 2022/00038/SC1 exists for the site but is not confirmed as this application, so left null.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Culham Campus, Oxfordshire (AI Growth Zone)UKAEA / AI Growth Zone; operator not named in sourceEnquiry estimatedC100 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: South Oxfordshire / Vale of White Horse (South and Vale) - inferred estimated

Note: DCD 18 Nov 2025. Stage unclear (described as under development). Council local-plan statements of common ground exist on southandvale.gov.uk but were not opened.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

DataVita Chapelhall campus (DV4), North Lanarkshire AI Growth ZoneDataVita with CoreWeave (HFD Group)Planning submittedC100 MW

MW basis: 100MW AI-ready capacity for the AI Growth Zone (DataCentre Review); DV4 MW not stated

Planning: North Lanarkshire Council

Grid status: Over 1GW renewables via private wire (no grid detail)

Note: AGZ named 29 Jan 2026; DV4 planning-permission-in-principle application announced 2 Sep 2026 (awaiting validation). The 100MW figure belongs to the AGZ, not necessarily DV4.

Source 1, Source 2, checked 21 Oct 2026

Land off Bedmond Road, Abbots Langley, HertfordshireGreystoke LandConsentedC96 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Three Rivers District Council (refused Jan 2024; allowed on appeal)

Note: Appeal allowed by Deputy PM May 2025 (article 13 May 2025). A Slough Borough Council document search-result titles appeal ref 3346061 but that page was not opened, so lpa_ref left null.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Didcot A power station site, OxfordshireAmazon Web ServicesConsentedC84 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Vale of White Horse District Council

Note: Approved July 2021; build status not verified. Older than 2024.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

NGD campus (ex-LG factory), Newport, WalesVantage Data Centers (NGD)ConsentedC80 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Newport City Council

Note: Older (March 2021 permission); build status not verified. Included as Newport anchor.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Thames Valley Park, ReadingNot named (Microsoft is current occupier; project team BCS, Arup etc.)EnquiryC72 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Not stated (site appears to be in Wokingham Borough; unverified)

Grid status: Interim on-site gas fuel cells while grid capacity is brought forward

Note: Public consultation 7 Jul 2026; early stage.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Wilton International (former Croda plot), TeessideWilton Data Centre (company; end user not named)ConsentedC48 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council, R/2023/0404/OOM

Grid status: Two substation buildings (66kV not confirmed); no capacity stated

Note: Outline consent Oct 2023; below 50MW. Ref as given in DCD article, not verified on portal.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Kao Data campus, Harlow, Essex (KLON7 and KLON8)Kao DataPlanning submittedCnot stated

Planning: Harlow District Council (Local Development Order compliance)

Grid status: Substation included in filing; no connection detail

Note: DCD 2 Sep 2025; no decision reported.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Prosperity Parc (Anglesey) and Trawsfynydd, North Wales AI Growth ZoneStena Line (Prosperity Parc owner, consortium lead); no end customer confirmedEnquiryCnot stated

Planning: Isle of Anglesey County Council / Gwynedd Council (inferred) estimated

Grid status: Zone gets priority grid access; no site connection detail

Note: AI Growth Zone announced 17 Nov 2025. Stena's earlier concept was a 238,000 sqm GBP1bn data centre, no MW. gov.uk page could not be fetched.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Teesworks, Redcar (former steelworks)Teesworks (developer); Google reported in talks, unconfirmedConsentedCnot stated

Planning: Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council

Note: DCD (15 Sep 2025): permission granted Aug 2025, second detailed application needed. Operator unconfirmed (rumour). Candidate for later AI Growth Zone.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Hurlford, East AyrshireNot statedPlanning submitted estimatedD540 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: East Ayrshire Council (inferred) estimated

Note: Resultsense 8 Sep 2026 pipeline roundup ('in planning'); same article lists Hunterston, Dunbar, Cockenzie, Haspielaw (no MW) and says Dunoon (600MW) and Irvine (1,000MW) schemes fell away.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Glenbervie Business Park, Larbert, FalkirkApatura (backer reportedly Klint Ventures, unconfirmed)Planning submittedD300 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Falkirk Council estimated

Grid status: Near Denny substation; Apatura cites Gate 2 compliant connections across sites (2.4GW)

Note: Futurescot 9 Jun 2026; LPA inferred from 'local council'/Inward Investment team mention.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Premier Park, Park Royal, west LondonPure Data Centres Group / SEGRO JVConsentedD72 MW

MW basis: 72MW power capacity

Planning: Old Oak and Park Royal Development Corporation

Note: Single trade-news source (6 May 2026); construction expected to begin 2026. Decision date and ref not stated.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Link Park Heathrow, Thorney Mill Road, Iver, BuckinghamshireLink Park HeathrowPlanning submitted estimatedD60 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Buckinghamshire Council and Hillingdon Council (appeal, non-determination)

Note: 2023 article: appeal dismissed then High Court found errors; redetermination. Later outcome not verified (related headlines of Jan 2026 exist). Stage is a best guess.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Loughton, EssexNscaleEnquiry estimatedD50 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Not stated (Epping Forest District, inferred, not recorded)

Note: Baxtel lists it as both planned and under construction, and reports Microsoft ended its anchor agreement on 19 Oct 2026. Single unconfirmed report; verify before use.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Slough Trading Estate (London19)Virtus Data Centres (powered shell by SEGRO)ConsentedD32.5 MW

MW basis: not specified (IT load or grid capacity unknown)

Planning: Slough Borough Council (inferred; permitted via estate Simplified Planning Zone) estimated

Note: Below 50MW threshold; included for Slough coverage. Single source dated 30 Jun 2026.

Source 1, checked 21 Oct 2026

Projects with demand (import) capacity in the TEC Register file dated 20 Oct 2026: 105. These are rows whose Plant Type includes "Demand"; most are storage or generation sites that also import power. This is not a count of data centres.

Back to Queue movers